Opening of “Lighthouse”

Opening of “Lighthouse”

The Centre Culturel Irlandais is delighted to present the premiere showing of four monumental photographs by Donovan Wylie, one of Ireland’s most renowned photographers. Immediately following the June 2016 referendum on Brexit, Wylie, a Belfast-based artist, began to photograph singular lighthouses on key dates, glimpsed from the opposing coastlines of France and different parts of the United Kingdom - England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. 

Programme of the evening:

5.30pm
Before the opening, the photographer Donovan Wylie will be in conversation with the writer Chris Klatell in part of the exhibition Lighthouse - the talk will take place at the CCI

6.30pm
_ Opening of the exhibition Lighthouse by Donovan Wylie
_ This opening evening is also the opportunity to discover Conor Horgan’s exhibition En résidence in the main staircase of the CCI, a series of portraits of our artists in residence created in 2019 and 2020.
_ The work of recent artist in residence, Vukašin Nedeljkovic, is also unveiled in the courtyard this evening – four photographs that evoke ‘Direct Provision’ centres for asylum seekers in Ireland.

20h
_ After party with singer-songwriter Anna Mullarkey. Originally from Galway, Anna’s electro, piano and vocal music has been likened to a savvy blend  of Björk, Billie Holiday and Philip Glass by the Irish Theatre Magazine.

Vernissage de “Lighthouse”

Vernissage de “Lighthouse”

Le CCI est ravi de dévoiler quatre photographies monumentales inédites de Donovan Wylie, l’un des photographes les plus renommés d’Irlande. Juste après le référendum de juin 2016 sur le Brexit, Donovan Wylie, qui vit et travaille à Belfast, entreprit de photographier des phares, à des dates précises, tels qu’il les apercevait depuis les côtes françaises et différentes parties du Royaume-Uni : l’Angleterre, l’Ecosse, le Pays de Galles et l’Irlande du Nord. 

Programme de la soirée :

17h30
Avant le vernissage, le photographe Donovan Wylie s'entretiendra avec l'écrivain Chris Klatell dans le cadre de l'exposition Lighthouse - conversation en présentiel 

18h30
_ Vernissage de l'exposition Lighthouse de Donovan Wylie
_ Cette soirée sera également l’occasion de découvrir l'exposition En résidence présentant une série de portraits de nos artistes en résidence réalisée en 2019 et 2020 par le photographe Conor Horgan.
_ Suite à sa récente résidence au CCI, nous sommes heureux d’exposer dans notre cour une sélection de photographies des archives de Vukašin Nedeljkovic qui évoquent les Centres pour demandeurs d’asile en Irlande « Direct Provision ».

20h
_ After party musicale avec la chanteuse et multi instrumentiste Anna Mullarkey

Restauration sur place assurée par le foodtruck de burgers BBQ Brother.