Poésie et Prose

Rencontre littéraire :
poets Leontia Flynn and Iggy McGovern, novelist Lucy Caldwell

Chair: Nell Regan, Director, West Cork Literary Festival

Rencontre littéraire : </br>poets Leontia Flynn and Iggy McGovern, novelist Lucy Caldwell

Northern Irish poet and academic Leontia Flynn’s third collection of poetry, Profit and Loss (2011), confirmed her “unrivalled capacity as a good-humoured but devastating observer of the modern secular scene” TLS Books of the Year.

Award-winning author Lucy Caldwell’s latest novel, All the Beggars Riding (2013), centres on the narrator’s confrontation with her past and that of her father’s, a prominent plastic surgeon and Irishman, who had honed his skills on the bomb victims of the Troubles.
   
Poet and professor in the School of Physics at Trinity College Dublin, Iggy McGovern's new sonnet sequence, A Mystic Dream of 4, evokes the life of William Rowan Hamilton, 19th century Irish mathematician and poet.

Image left to right: Leontia Flynn, Lucy Caldwell, Iggy McGovern

Poésie et Prose

Rencontre littéraire :
poets Leontia Flynn and Iggy McGovern, novelist Lucy Caldwell

Modératrice : Nell Regan, directrice du West Cork Literary Festival

Rencontre littéraire : </br>poets Leontia Flynn and Iggy McGovern, novelist Lucy Caldwell

Selon le supplément littéraire du Times, le troisième recueil de poésie de Leontia Flynn - Profit and Loss (2011) - confirme « sa capacité incomparable d’observatrice drôle mais dévastatrice du monde laïque moderne ». Leontia est une poétesse et universitaire originaire d’Irlande du Nord.
    
Le dernier roman de l’auteure primée Lucy Caldwell, All The Beggars Riding (2013), nous plonge dans l’affrontement de la narratrice avec son passé et celui de son père, célèbre chirurgien plastique irlandais qui a soigné les victimes des bombes en Irlande du Nord.
    
Iggy McGovern est poète et professeur à la Faculté de physique de Trinity College Dublin. A mystic Dream of 4, sa dernière séquence de sonnets, évoque la vie de William Rowan Hamilton, un mathématicien et poète irlandais du 19ème siècle. 

Image : Leontia Flynn, Lucy Caldwell, Iggy McGovern