Skip to main content

Finola Merivale

August — December 2020

Fiona Merivale 2020

in partnership with the Contemporary Music Centre
Finola Merivale is an Irish composer of acoustic and electro-acoustic music, living in New York. She is pursuing a DMA in Composition at Columbia University, where she is studying with George E. Lewis, Georg Friedrich Haas and Zosha Di Castri. Her music has been performed by International Contemporary Ensemble, Talea, PRISM Saxophone Quartet, Crash Ensemble and musicians of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, amongst others. While in Paris, Finola is working on a piece for piano and electronics entitled Glacial Fading, which uses underwater recordings of the Arctic icebergs melting. She is also composing a percussion quartet, and a work for saxophone and electronics, commissioned by Robert Finegan, which is funded by the Arts Council of Ireland Music Commissions Award.