The Centre CultureI Irlandais and the Fondation Irlandaise, its governing body, have created two biannual awards to support Franco-Irish cultural relations : the Prix de Thèse and Prix de Traduction awards

Prix de thèse

Established in 2013 by the Fondation Irlandaise, Centre CultureI Irlandais’ ruling body, this award of €3,000 is intended to help the beneficiary to publish their work and bring it to a wide audience.

Theses concerned by the Prix
Next Prix de Thèse: 2019
Theses in French and presented in a French university between 1 January 2017 and 31 December 2018. Terms and conditions available here 

How to submit a thesis for the Prix
Send two printed copies and a digital version of the thesis together with two copies of the C.V. of the author and two copies of the “rapport de thèse” to Centre Culturel Irlandais, 5 rue des Irlandais, 75005 Paris
Next deadline: 31st March 2019
For all other enquiries, please contact: or 00 33 1 58 52 10 33

Previous Recipients
Prix de thèse 2013 : Lison Ducastelle, Université Paris III - Sorbonne Nouvelle, "L’IRA de la violence armée au désarmement (1969-2005) : enjeux, symboles et mécanismes", supervised by Valérie Peyronel

Prix de thèse 2015 : Emmanuel Destenay, Université Paris IV - Sorbonne, "Expériences de guerre et retours à la vie civile des combattants irlandais, 1914-1928", supervised by Olivier Forcade and Philippe Nivet

Prix de thèse 2017 : Marion Naugrette-Fournier, Université Paris III - Sorbonne Nouvelle, "Pour une nouvelle histoire des objets : réévaluation, classement et recyclage dans l’œuvre de Derek Mahon"; supervised by Carle Bonafous-Murat

The theses from 2013 and 2015 can be consulted at the Médiathèque on request.


Prix de Traduction

The Centre Culturel Irlandais is delighted to announce the creation of a « Prix de traduction » for the promotion of Irish literature in the French language.

The « Prix de traduction » aims to support the translation of works of fiction by Irish authors who are as yet unknown in France.

The prize of €3,500 is awarded to the translator. Only first translations published in the two years prior to application can be entered for the prize.

Jury members:

-Clíona Ní Ríordáin, President
University Professor and Director of the Irish Studies Research Group at University of Sorbonne Nouvelle – Paris 3. Translator and specialist in literary translation.

-Sinéad Mac Aodha, Vice-President
Director of Literature Ireland

-Isabelle Collombat  
Director of the Research Section at l’ESIT (École Supérieure d'Interprètes et de Traducteurs), Translator.

-Daniel Hahn
Writer, editor and translator

-Martine Hennard Dutheil de la Rochère
Professor of English and Comparative Literature at the Université de Lausanne (Switzerland)

Closing date for applications: 31 March 2019

Full terms and conditions of the prize are available here.

The Prix de traduction is co-funded by Literature Ireland.