Romilly Walton Masters Award for Experimental Performance 

supported by the Centre Culturel Irlandais and Dublin Fringe Festival

We are delighted to announce that the recipient of the 2021 Romilly Walton Masters Award for Experimental Performance is OSARO AZAMS

This award, established in 2016 in memory of the late director, producer, scriptwriter and friend of the CCI, Romilly Walton Masters, supports the making of bold, innovative, experimental performance work in the fields of theatre, music, dance, film or visual art to be experienced by audiences in France and Ireland. The award is intended to enable experimental theatre and performance makers in their early careers.

Osaro Azams is an up-and-coming Nigerian artist based in Ireland who creates her award-winning music night 'Black Jam' through her group Fried Plantains Collective with Dublin Fringe Festival and Abbey Theatre. She recently performed for Museum of Literature Ireland in work marking St Brigid's Day as well as for the Franco-Irish Literary Festival 2021. 


Artist residencies 2021

39 artists across the spectrum of artistic backgrounds will spend one month in Paris to develop their proposed projects, which range from the development of a new presentation of Beckett’s The Unnamable for MoLI or mapping Joyce’s Paris, to documenting the work of artisans who embellish Haute Couture gowns; and from creating a ‘Slow Mo’ dance work as the choreographer journeys from Dublin to Cyprus, to making music to accompany Colum McCann’s latest book about two grieving fathers in the Middle East.

This year sees CCI partnering some 16 organisations for its artist residencies:
Music Network, Contemporary Music Centre (CMC), Moving on Music, Belfast City Council, Design & Crafts Council Ireland (DCCI), Visual Artists Ireland (VAI), Graphic Studio Dublin, Literature Ireland, Poetry Ireland, Museum of Literature Ireland (MoLI), Draoícht, Meath Arts Office, Ealaín na Gaeltachta, Galway County Arts Office, RDS and Mason Hayes & Curran.   

David Ian Bickley
Jonathan Creasy
Bob Gallagher

Dermot Bolger
John Holten                     
Jean O’Brien                       in association with Poetry Ireland
Joanna Walsh                     in association with Literature Ireland

Conor Caldwell                     in association with Belfast City Council
Duo ConTe
Caitriona Frost                     in association with Music Network
Chris Guilfoyle  
Christy Leech                      in association with Meath Arts Office
Colm Mac Con Iomaire
Myles O’Reilly            
Jack O’Rourke
Xenia Pestova Bennett      in association with Moving on Music
Karen Power                        in association with CMC
Max Zaska                                     

Andrew Duggan                in association with Ealaín na Gaeltachta
Maria Fusco
Kellie Hughes                    in association with MoLI
Jo Mangan
Rita Marcalo
Liam McCarthy                  in association with Draíocht
Shane O’Reilly
Sarah-Jane Scott               in association with Galway County Arts Office Council

Nadia Armstrong               in association with RDS/Mason Hayes & Curran
Felicity Clear
Mary Cremin
Irina Gheorghe
David Lilburn
Kate MacDonagh               in association with Graphic Studio Dublin
Paddy McCann
Cecilia Moore                     in association with DCCI
Jennie Moran
Abigail O’Brien                   in association with Visual Artists Ireland
Mick O’Shea and Irene Murphy   in association with Visual Artists Ireland


The Rev. Liam Swords Foundation Bursary

This bursary provides financial support to a student of talent from the Irish Higher Education Sector to pursue his/her studies/research/training for 3 months based at Centre Culturel Irlandais. 

The recipients for 2021/2022 are:
Rosanne Gallenne           School of English, Drama & Film, University College Dublin
Tracey Mc Carthy           Department of History, Mary Immaculate College, Limerick