ÚR

ÚR

Artist Ian Joyce and Cló Ceardlann na gCnoc invited international curator Miroslava Hajek to work on ÚR, an international project of contemporary art from the Gaeltacht area in the west of Ireland.

This exhibition translates into visual form the immense richness of images which figure in the Gaelic language and writing. Ireland, a small country and an island, is considered one of the remaining buttresses of an ancient Celtic inheritance which has left its traces all over Europe.

In ÚR, the contemporary Visual Art of that ancient culture is examined.  Its first quality is represented by the sonorous aspect: the musicality of a poem can be found in the works represented here.  The relationship to writing, its signs and themes is another peculiarity of Irish contemporary art.  In this selection there are representative approaches which treat this characteristic in an innovative manner. Another quality is the visual character: the image is confronted directly with writing in such a way that the images emerge like evanescent overlaps or like evocations of described visions.  Celtic character continues to enrich the spirit of our age with components of mystery, ambiguity, in reaction to transparency: the visual distortions and reflections related to a rapport with nature, as true and living.

All of these trends are present in the works of the selected artists: they express the Gaelic spirit, tracing out an identity and a modern Gaelic awareness which succeeds in maintaining a contemporary expressive strength and to create also a context for works of art which overlap and inter react with a technological vanguard.

Artists include: Bernadette Cotter, Frances Hegarty, Oona Hyland, Ian Joyce, Ursula Kavanagh, Sarah Lewtas, Maggie Madden, Kevin McGee, Caroline Patten, Kevin Quille, Una Ní Shé, Siobhán & Colin Russell.

ÚR

ÚR

Deux artistes, Ian Joyce et Cló Ceardlann na gCnoc, ont invité le conservateur de renommée internationale Miroslava Hajek à collaborer à ÚR, un projet international d'art contemporain né dans la Gaeltacht, région de langue gaélique à l'ouest de l'Irlande.

Cette exposition propose de transposer sous forme de vidéos et d'installations les images ou expressions imagées qui font l'extrême richesse de la langue et la littérature gaéliques. Petit pays insulaire, l'Irlande passe pour l'un des derniers bastions de l'ancien héritage celtique dont la trace subsiste partout en Europe.

ÚR explore les arts visuels contemporains issus de cette ancienne culture. Sa qualité première concerne l'aspect sonore des oeuvres exposées qui possèdent souvent la musicalité d'un poème. L'art contemporain irlandais se distingue aussi par la relation qu'il entretient avec l'écriture, avec ses signes et ses thèmes. Et plusieurs des oeuvres sélectionnées ont dans ce domaine une approche figurative tout à fait novatrice. L'autre qualité de cette exposition concerne son caractère visuel : l'image et l'écrit s'entremêlent si intimement à l'écran que les images semblent naître des mots comme autant de vagues évanescentes, comme si elles prenaient corps par la magie visionnaire des mots. Le tempérament celte ne cesse d'enrichir l'esprit de notre temps : opposé au règne de la transparence, il apporte un peu de mystère et d'ambiguïté, grâce à des effets de distorsion et de réflexion qui témoignent de sa relation privilégiée avec une nature vivante et authentique.

Les oeuvres des artistes sélectionnés sont représentatives de ces différents courants où se manifeste un esprit gaélique en quête d'identité. S'y manifeste aussi une conscience gaélique moderne qui inscrit sa force d'expression avec succès dans le monde contemporain, et crée même un cadre d'accueil pour ces oeuvres d'art qui interagissent avec l'avant-garde technologique à laquelle elles empruntent ses outils.

Figurent au nombre des artises : Bernadette Cotter, Frances Hegarty, Oona Hyland, Ian Joyce, Ursula Kavanagh, Sarah Lewtas, Maggie Madden, Kevin McGee, Caroline Patten, Kevin Quille, Una Ní Shé, Siobhán & Colin Russell.