Festival: New Writings, New Styles

Festival: New Writings, New Styles

Twinned with the long-established Franco-Irish Literary Festival in Dublin, CCI is pleased to present a festival celebrating contemporary literature in our two countries. Award-winning Irish and French writers will engage in a series of debates and talks about the preoccupations, styles and dynamics of contemporary literature.
 

Friday 3 March

17.15: Opening Remarks
17.30: Novel-Writing today in France and Ireland

Maylis de Kerangal, Mike McCormack and Lisa McInerney
Moderator: Lara Marlowe
The novel continues to be a form widely read and enjoyed by readers of all ages. What was, two centuries ago, a scandalously innovative form might by now be at risk of becoming old and staid. However, the form’s elasticity and resilience, as exemplified by contemporary authors writing in France and Ireland, seems to guarantee its endurance.
Reservation
 

19.30: A Writer’s Eye

Public interview with author and playwright Laurent Gaudé, winner of the Prix Goncourt for Le Soleil des Scorta.
Interviewer: Jean-Philippe Imbert
Reservation
 

 

Saturday 4 March

14.30: The long and the short of it

Rob Doyle, Declan Meade and Paul McVeigh
Moderator: Jean-Michel Picard
Why has short fiction, and the short story in particular, experienced such a renaissance in recent years? Every young writer in Ireland seems to produce at least one collection of short stories while more established novelists often seem to have yet another collection of stories in their back pocket. Journals like The New Yorker, The Stinging Fly and publishers like Le Dilettante provide important outlets for short stories. Is it a question of literary snobbery and a desire to emulate masters such as Joyce and Chekov? Or does the short story simply have more to offer both writer and reader?
Reservation

 

16.00: Alt-Facts or Alt-fiction : whose truth is it anyway?

Colette Fellous, Jean Rouaud, Rob Doyle and Julia Kerninon
Moderator: Prof Clíona Ní Ríordáin
Memoire, autofiction and fictionalized autobiographies present additional challenges to writer and reader.  Does it matter if a life sounds better in a book than it really is? Is it not natural to gild the truth for the sake of a good story?
Reservation

 

18.30: Where to start and where to now?

Dermot Bolger, Patrick Deville, Paul Lynch and Léonor de Recondo
Moderator : Sinéad Mac Aodha
Do the new moral landscapes of our day present opportunities for the writer? Is he/she ”a storyteller” or something more, a sounding board for society?  Does the past or “an elsewhere” provide a surer basis on which to construct a novel?
Reservation



Tags: maylis de keranga,léonor de recondo,patrick deville,rob doyle,colette fellous,paul lynch,laurent gaudé,mike mccormack,lisa mcinerney,paul mcveigh,jean rouaud,declan meade

Festival: New Writings, New Styles

Festival: New Writings, New Styles

En écho et partenariat avec le Franco-Irish Literary Festival créé en 2000 à Dublin, le CCI est heureux de proposer cet événement dédié à la littérature contemporaine de nos deux pays. Romanciers irlandais et français auront le loisir d’échanger autour de leurs environnements de travail respectifs et des dernières tendances en matière d’écriture, de sujets abordés et d’usage de la langue. Ce court festival leur donnera également l’opportunité d’établir avec leurs lecteurs un dialogue riche et constructif. Rassemblant aussi bien des auteurs confirmés que des écrivains ayant émergé ces dernières années et déjà plusieurs fois primés :

Vendredi 3 mars

17h15 : discours d’introduction

17h30 : L’écriture romanesque aujourd’hui, en France et en Irlande

Maylis de Kerangal, Mike McCormack et Lisa McInerney
Modérateur : Lara Marlowe
Apprécié des lecteurs de tout âge, le roman jouit encore de nos jours d'une grande popularité. Scandaleusement innovant il y a deux siècles, il court maintenant le risque d'être vu comme un genre dépassé et terriblement banal. Cependant, l’élasticité et la résilience du roman, démontrées par des auteurs contemporains de France et d’Irlande, semblent assurer sa pérennité.
Réservation

19h30 : L’œil de l’écrivain

Interview publique de l’auteur et dramaturge Laurent Gaudé, lauréat du Prix Goncourt pour Le Soleil des Scorta.
Interviewer : Jean-Philippe Imbert
Réservation

 

Samedi 4 mars

14h30 : La nouvelle - un renouveau

Rob Doyle, Declan Meade et Paul McVeigh
Modérateur : Jean-Michel Picard
Pourquoi les courts récits – et notamment la nouvelle – ont-ils rencontré un tel succès au cours des dernières années ? Tous les jeunes auteurs d’Irlande semblent produire au moins un recueil de nouvelles, et les romanciers plus aguerris semblent souvent avoir un énième recueil d’histoires en stock. De nombreuses nouvelles sont publiées dans des revues telles que The New Yorker ou The Stinging Fly et par des maisons d'édition comme Le Dilettante. Est-ce une question de snobisme littéraire, un désir d’imiter des maîtres tels que Joyce et Tchekhov ? Ou peut-être que la nouvelle a tout simplement plus à offrir, à la fois à l’auteur et au lecteur ?
Réservation

 

16h : Faits alternatifs ou fiction alternative : la vérité, quelle importance ?

Colette Fellous, Jean Rouaud, Rob Doyle et Julia Kerninon
Modérateur : Prof Clíona Ní Ríordáin
Les mémoires, les autofictions et les autobiographies romancées sont synonymes de nouveaux défis pour l’auteur comme pour le lecteur. Est-ce problématique si une vie paraît plus intéressante dans un livre qu’elle ne l’est vraiment ? N’est-il pas naturel d’embellir la vérité pour écrire une bonne histoire ?
Réservation

 

18h30 : Par où commencer et dans quelle direction avancer ?

Dermot Bolger, Patrick Deville, Paul Lynch et Léonor de Recondo
Modérateur : Sinéad Mac Aodha
Les nouveaux « paysages moraux » de notre époque ouvrent-ils le champ des possibilités pour l’auteur ? Ses œuvres ne servent-elles qu'à raconter, ou représentent-elles des tribunes ? Le passé ou « l’ailleurs » forment-ils une base plus sûre pour écrire un roman ?
Réservation



Tags: maylis de keranga,léonor de recondo,patrick deville,rob doyle,colette fellous,paul lynch,laurent gaudé,mike mccormack,lisa mcinerney,paul mcveigh,jean rouaud,declan meade