Felim Egan

Intervals in Blue

Felim Egan

Felim Egan is one of Ireland's contemporary masters. His external and internal landscapes in paintings with his now signature technique span a period of great change in Ireland and the Arts in particular. The variations in Egan's work are dramatic in their minuteness, in their detail, drawing the viewer in until they recognise the vastness of the undertakings, reflecting the banal to the universal. In this exhibition, Egan moves in giant leaps introducing some new elements in the movement, in the mood. In his salute to the musical elements, to the lyrical movement, autour de Intervals in Blue is an absorbing exhibition.

Felim Egan was born in Co. Donegal in lreland in 1952 and studied in Belfast and Portsmouth before attending the Slade School of Art in London. He then spent a year at theBritish School at Rome in 1980 before returning to Dublin. Since then he has lived and worked at Sandymount Strand on the edge of Dublin Bay. The Nobel Laureate Seamus Heaney has aptly described his painting as 'a balance of shifting brilliances'.

Egan has exhibited widely across Europe with 43 solo exhibitions since 1979, including at the lrish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin, and the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam. In 1985 he represented lreland at the San Paulo Bienale.



Tags: felim egan

Felim Egan

Intervals in Blue

Felim Egan

Felim Egan  est l'un des maîtres irlandais de la peinture contemporaine. Ses paysages extérieurs et intérieurs mettent en oeuvre une technique très personnelle à laquelle il est resté fidèle en dépit des importantes transformations de la société irlandaise en général et du domaine de l'art en particulier. Les variations de l'oeuvre de Felim Egan sont spectaculaires de minutie et de détails. Ces derniers happent le spectateur jusqu'à ce qu'il identifie enfin l'immensité de l'entreprise : la représentation de l'universalité et du banal.

Avec cette exposition, Felim Egan n'hésite pas à innover en variant les rythmes et les ambiances. Hommage aux composantes musicales et au mouvement lyrique, "autour de Intervals in Blue" est une exposition fascinante.

Felim Egan est né en Irlande dans le comté de Donegal en 1952 et a fait ses études à Belfast et Portsmouth avant d'entrer à la Slade School Of Art de Londres. Après une année à la British School de Rome en 1980, il revient dans la capitale irlandaise. Depuis, il vit et travaille à Sandymount Strand, en bordure de la baie de Dublin. Le prix Nobel de littérature, Seamus Heaney, a judicieusement qualifié ses toiles "d'équilibre d'éclats changeants".

Depuis 1979, l'oeuvre de Felim Egan a fait l'objet de 43 expositions personnelles dans toute l'Europe, notamment à Dublin, au Irish Museum of Modern Art, et à Amsterdam, au Stedelijk Museum. En 1985, il a représenté l'Irlande à la Biennale de São Paulo.



Tags: felim egan