Andrew Folan, Veronica Nicholson and Dermot Seymour

Dead Bodies

Andrew Folan, Veronica Nicholson and Dermot Seymour

This first exhibition of the season presents the work of three contemporary Irish artists and their approach to the doomed, the dead and the decomposing.

The Belfast-born painter Dermot Seymour creates works whose strength and size belie the decay they project from within. His monumental images of humans or animals, sick or dead, cry out that this world is sick. Observations of the artist's surrounding in the North and West of Ireland, these undeniably beautiful paintings present destruction in a direct and uncluttered manner.

A native of Co. Clare, Veronica Nicholson deals with 'road kills', small animals killed on the road. Photographed in beautiful super real colour, their bodies are exquisitely presented and surrounded by simple garlands of mourning. The earth being the eventual repository of all living things, the artist buried the bodies and, after some time, exhumed their bones to complete the presentation of these creatures? demise.

Dublin-based printmaker, Andrew Folan uses digital techniques for both his works in the exhibition. His Study for the Raft of the Medusa, after Gericault's dramatic depiction of death, suffering and impotence yet ultimately of hope and resurrection, is a comment on the current social predicament of the male gender. His digital print Analysand 4, an anatomical image of the brain, lays bare the vulnerability of the body in a much more clinical manner, giving the impression of a post-mortem display piece.

The members of the 'Ireland' research group based at the Institut d'anglais Charles V (Université Paris 7-Denis Diderot) have been working for the past three years on the place of the dead body in the modern Irish imagination: the body as a focus of veneration and pilgrimage, as an object of negotiation and manipulation, as an area of attention in literature, film and photography. The present exhibition moves this exploration forward into the area of contemporary Irish art.

Dermot Seymour, Deaddog, 2003
Veronica Nicholson, Détail de Nature Morte, 1996-2001
Andrew Folan, Analysand 4, 2001


Tags: andrew folan,veronica nicholson,dermot seymour

Andrew Folan, Veronica Nicholson and Dermot Seymour

Dead Bodies

Andrew Folan, Veronica Nicholson and Dermot Seymour

Cette première exposition de la rentrée présente le travail de trois artistes contemporains irlandais, leur regard respectif sur le déclin, la mort et la décomposition.

Né à Belfast, le peintre Dermot Seymour crée des oeuvres dont la dimension et la force démentent leur thématique morbide. Ses tableaux monumentaux, qui représentent des animaux ou des êtres humains morts ou malades, dépeignent un monde en perpétuelle souffrance. Observations de l'environnement de l'artiste en Irlande du Nord et de l'Ouest et , ces oeuvres d'une beauté indéniable, traitent du thème de la mort sans détour et sans fard.

Originaire de Co. Clare, Veronica Nicholson travaille sur les "morts de la route", petits animaux victimes de la circulation automobile. Ses splendides photos aux couleurs hyperréalistes montrent leurs cadavres subtilement agencés et entourés de guirlandes funéraires. Pour marquer le retour à la terre de tout être vivant, l'artiste a ensuite enterré les corps, pour les exhumer plus tard et compléter le récit de leur disparition en présentant leurs ossement

Les deux oeuvres que présente Andrew Folan, graveur vivant à Dublin, font appel à des techniques numériques. Son Study for The Raft of the Medusa d'après l'oeuvre de Géricault, représentation saisissante de la mort, de la souffrance et de l'impuissance transfigurées par l'espoir et la résurrection, se veut un commentaire sur la condition masculine actuelle. Le tirage numérique Analysand 4, image anatomique du cerveau humain, révèle la vulnérabilité du corps de façon plus clinique et fait songer à une pièce de rapport d'autopsie.

L'Atelier  'Irlande' de l'Institut d'anglais Charles V (Université Paris 7  Denis Diderot) mène depuis trois ans une réflexion sur la place du corps défunt dans l'imaginaire de l'Irlande moderne : le corps comme objet de vénération et de pèlerinage, le corps comme objet de négociation, de manipulation, le corps comme objet d'exploration littéraire, comme objet filmé ou photographié.  L'exposition que propose le Centre Culturel Irlandais prolonge cette exploration dans le domaine de l'art contemporain irlandais.

Dermot Seymour, Deaddog, 2003
Veronica Nicholson, Détail de Nature Morte, 1996-2001
Andrew Folan, Analysand 4, 2001


Tags: andrew folan,veronica nicholson,dermot seymour