Abigail O’Brien

Holy Orders- Garden Heaven

Abigail O’Brien

Abigail O'Brien Holy orders - Garden heavenThe original inspiration for this series is the work of Nicolas Poussin on the same theme, with the sacraments acting as a catalyst, interpreted through secular ideas and discourses. The work fuses contemporary Fine Art practices with traditional forms of object making. Through a diverse range of medium, including, sculpture, sewing, video, sound works and photography, O'Brien explores domesticity, every day rituals and rites of passage. These rituals are both an 'anchor and a noose' and as 'a way of navigating the complexities of life'; that they are rites of passage into one's cultural milieu and that, although restrictive, these sacraments can still confer meaning and 'grace' upon one's activities.

O'Brien's exploration of three major themes; the meaning of ritual in domestic life, the changing iconography of religion and the female figure in contemporary art. O'Brien uses the sacraments as an armature to delve into the pivotal points of human existence from birth through to death, re-working the iconography attached to each sacrament into a contemporary domestic setting, rendering it free of the pomp and regalia of some historical treatments. And she firmly places the female sensibility centre stage of the narrative and drama associated with each sacrament.  The placing of Holy Orders in a garden being carefully tended gives rise to discussion about the sacrifices to be made for tending a garden in such a structured way, the nature of the activity and the implications for the liberty of the individual. 

O'Brien has won many awards for her work and is in both private and public collections, including The Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin, The Caldic Collection, Rotterdam and The Volpinum Collection, Vienna. She has shown extensively, including Haus Der Kunst, Munich, The Gemeentemuseum, Holland, and Centro National des Artes, Mexico. Born in 1957, she received a first class honours BA Fine Art Painting in 1995 and an MA Fine Art Painting in 1998, from The National College of Art and Design, Dublin. Abigail O'Brien lives and works in Dublin.

To mark the 4th editions of the FICEP « Étrangement proche », there will be an exceptional evening opening of the exhibition on the 28th of September 18h30 - 20h30.
Exhibition from 23 September to 12 November 2005



Tags: ficep,abigail o’brien

Abigail O’Brien

Holy Orders- Garden Heaven

Abigail O’Brien

Abigail O'Brien Holy orders - Garden heavenLe Centre Culturel Irlandais est heureux d'accueillir la première grande exposition personnelle en France de l'artiste irlandaise Abigail O'Brien. S'inspirant à l'origine du travail de Nicolas Poussin, l'artiste présente une série d'oeuvres sur le thème d'un des sacrements qu'elle interprète et utilise comme catalyseurs, à travers les cadres de la pensée et du discours laïques. Mêlant étroitement les pratiques contemporaines des beaux-arts à des formes plus traditionnelles de fabrications artisanales, Abigail O'Brien explore l'univers domestique, les rituels quotidiens et les rites de passage en usant d'un large éventail de disciplines dont la sculpture, la couture, la vidéo, la création sonore et la photographie. À la fois « point d'ancrage et corde au cou », ces rituels sont la métaphore du cheminement à travers les écueils de l'existence. Rites de passage donnant accès à notre propre culture, ces sacrements contraignants peuvent néanmoins donner un sens à notre vie " touchée par la grâce ".

A travers cette exposition, Abigail O'Brien explore trois thèmes majeurs : la signification du rituel dans l'univers domestique, l'évolution de l'iconographie religieuse et la figure de la femme dans l'art contemporain. Elle se sert des sacrements comme d'un outil d'exploration des moments clés de l'existence humaine depuis la naissance jusqu'à la mort.  Elle replace l'iconographie de chaque sacrement dans un cadre domestique contemporain, le libérant du caractère pompeux qu'il a acquis à travers l'histoire. Ainsi, elle replace avec force la sensibilité féminine au centre du récit et du drame associés à chaque sacrement. En resituant les Holy Orders dans un jardin agencé et soigneusement entretenu, elle interroge le choix de tel ou tel sacrifice. L'entretien d'un jardin est-il nécessaire ? Quel type d'activité faut-il y déployer et avec quelle incidence sur la liberté individuelle?

Abigail O'Brien a remporté de nombreux prix pour ses oeuvres acquises par des collections publiques et privées dont le Irish Museum of Modern Art de Dublin, la Caldic Collectie à Rotterdam et la Collection Volpinum à Vienne. Elle a présenté son travail à travers le monde, notamment à la Haus der Kunst de Munich, au Gemeentemuseum en Hollande et au Centro Nacional des Artes de Mexico. Née en 1957, elle est diplômée du National College of Art and Design de Dublin où elle a obtenu en 1995 sa licence en arts plastiques option peinture, avec mention très bien, puis sa maîtrise en 1998. Elle vit et travaille dans la capitale irlandaise.

Dans le cadre de « Etrangement proche », 4e édition de la semaine des cultures étrangères (FICEP), Vernissage exceptionnel le mercredi 28 septembre 05
 



Tags: ficep,abigail o’brien