Organised as part of Semaine des cultures étrangères in Paris

The Hare in Paris

Savours, colours and music - Open-air weekend

The Hare in Paris

Artist-in-residence Fiona Hallinan and chef Katie Sanderson have devised a delicious weekend of food, talks and music, following the success of their 2013 collaboration at the Temple Bar Gallery and Studios in Dublin and more recently at the Irish Museum of Modern Art. Their pop-up café takes its intriguing name from SS Hare CWS, a relief ship which brought food to starving strikers during the 1913 lockout, a major industrial dispute in Ireland involving 20,000 workers.
For “The Hare” café, sourcing, preparing and serving unusual local produce is key to Fiona and Katie’s concept of food presentation as a performative process.

Drop-in delicacies : Savoury and sweet boards will be on sale throughout the weekend - brack, cheese and crabapple jelly...
Saturday and Sunday 11am to 3pm; 6pm to 10pm

Seated meals : The Hare experience - a delicious « 3-in-1 platter », dessert and special drinks
Saturday 1pm and 7pm, Sunday 1pm, 15€ per person FULLY BOOKED

AND…

Talk: Sustainable agriculture – the Irish perspective
Saturday at 11.30am, admission free, in English

Conversation: Discover Dillisk with two of Ireland’s most renowned chefs
Sunday at 6pm, admission free, in English

Dillisk is a seaside food project based down on the machair of Aughrusbeg in Connemara and takes its name from the special alga that grows there in abundance. Katie Sanderson and Jasper O’Connor will talk about how they came to set up a summer restaurant in a boat shed, harvesting seaweed, working with local suppliers and fisherman in Cleggan Harbour and selling out every seat. With introduction by Aisling Rogerson of the Fumbally cafe in Dublin where both Katie and Jasper worked as chefs.

Concerts: electro-pop
Saturday and Sunday at 8.30pm, admission free
Buffalo Woman (Neil Watkins & Tim O’Donovan), Margie Jean Lewis, David Donohue

As part of this event the Centre Culturel Irlandais are bringing from Ireland a unique structure created by three artists based in Dublin: Dan Tuomey, Tanad Aaron Williams and Tom Watt. The structure, pictured above, will act as the bar from which The Hare will serve over the weekend. It was commissioned as part of the Summer Rising events at Irish Museum of Modern Art in July 2014.

Who is cooking up this tasteful mélange?!
Fiona Hallinan: talented multi-media artist who, as well as being a chef, is currently collaborating with composers to create site-specific music and sound scores. http://www.heterodyneprojects.com/
Katie Sanderson and Jasper O’Connor: renowned chefs, they have developed a project in Connemara around dillisk – Irish seaweed – rich in nutrients as well as associations in the collective memory. http://www.livingdinners.com/the-hare/ ; irishtimes.com seashore-dining-in-the-west
Rayne Booth: curator of The Hare 2013 in Dublin
Aisling Rogerson: co-founder of Fumbally Café which has become a hub where the local community mix with artists, musicians and food lovers. Aisling will create a limited edition zine following The Hare in Paris. Interview with Aisling
Noreen Lanigan : French market manager for Bord Bia, Ireland’s state agency promoting Irish food abroad
Neil Watkins and Tim O’Donovan:  electro-pop group « Buffalo Woman ». Neil Watkins is also an actor, poet and playwright whose practice took a new path following the months he spent working at Fumbally Café. fringe-2013-neil-watkins-dinner-and-a-show/
David Donohue: artist, designer and musician, David is a pro in solo improvisation wending his way from acoustic to digital, keyboard to wind instruments. http://www.daviddonohoe.com
Margie Jean Lewis: classically trained violinist and jazz singer, Margie plays a myriad of antique instruments, experiments with loops, electronics, heavy beats and tops it off with her rich, bewildering vocals. lay-lay-feat-margie-lewis

 

This event is part of the annual Week of Foreign Cultures organised by FICEP (Forum of foreign institutes in Paris) of which the CCI is a member. The theme for 2014 is savours and colours; for details of the full programme running from 19 to 28 September, check the FICEP website: www.ficep.info


Links



Tags: fiona hallinan,ficep

Dans le cadre de la Semaine des cultures étrangères du FICEP

The Hare in Paris

Week-end saveurs, couleurs et musique en plein air

The Hare in Paris

En 2013, à l’initiative de l’artiste Fiona Hallinan - en résidence au CCI cet automne - et de la chef Katie Sanderson, le concept « The Hare » voyait le jour à Temple Bar, quartier branché de Dublin. Un lieu d’échange et de partage ouvert à tous, ce café éphémère s'installe ce weekend dans la cour du CCI. Chefs, musiciens et artistes irlandais vous feront vivre une expérience sensorielle et gustative!

Au comptoir : plateaux salés et sucrés en vente sans réservation - fromages, brack, bières et autres produits à l’accent irlandais.
Samedi et dimanche 11h – 15h ; 18h – 22h

A table : l’expérience « The Hare » - savoureux «plateau 3-in-1 », dessert, boissons originales et ambiance décalée incluses !
Samedi à 13h et 19h, dimanche à 13h, 15€ par personne COMPLET

Ainsi que des rencontres, discussions et concerts électro-pop… De quoi vous ouvrir l'appétit!

L’agriculture durable vue de l’Irlande – une présentation
Samedi à 11h30, entrée libre, en anglais

Découvrez « Dillisk » avec deux des chefs cuisiniers les plus innovants d’Irlande
Dimanche à 18h, entrée libre, en anglais

Basé dans le Connemara, « Dillisk » est un projet autour de la mer et ses mets. Il tire son nom de l’algue qui pousse en abondance dans cette région. Katie Sanderson et Jasper O’Connor nous parleront de leur restaurant d’été ouvert dans un abri de bateau, de la récolte de l’algue, du travail avec les fournisseurs locaux et les pêcheurs du port de Cleggan et enfin, de leur succès retentissant. Avec en introduction une présentation d’Aisling Rogerson du Fumbally Café à Dublin, où Katie et Jasper ont tous deux travaillé en tant que chefs cuisiniers.

Concerts électro-pop
Samedi et dimanche à 20h30, entrée libre
Buffalo Woman (Neil Watkins & Tim O’Donovan), Margie Jean Lewis, David Donohue

 

 

Le Centre Culturel Irlandais vous présente une structure unique venue d'Irlande (voir ci-dessus), conçue par trois artistes Dublinois : Dan Tuomey, Tanad Aaron Williams et Tom Watt. Inaugurée lors du Summer Rising au musée d'Art moderne de Dublin (IMMA) en juillet 2014, cette structure sert ce week-end de comptoir pour The Hare.

Qui sont les créateurs de cette performance gustative ?!
Fiona Hallinan
 : artiste multidisciplinaire qui, en plus d’être chef cuisinière, collabore avec des compositeurs pour créer des bandes-son spécifiques à des lieux. http://www.heterodyneprojects.com/
Katie Sanderson et Jasper O’Connor : tous deux chefs cuisiniers reconnus, ils ont dévoloppé dans le Connemara un projet autour du dillisk – algue irlandaise regorgeant de bienfaits nutritifs mais également d’évocations dans la mémoire collective. livingdinners.com/the-hare/ ; Irish Times.seashore-dining-in-the-west-
Rayne Booth : commissaire de The Hare 2013 à Dublin
Aisling Rogerson : co-créatrice du café artistique « Fumbally Café » axé sur la rencontre entre la communauté dublinoise de son quartier avec des amoureux d’art et de bonne cuisine. Aisling créera un mini-zine à tirage limité à partir du week-end The Hare in Paris. Entretien avec Aisling 
Noreen Lanigan : Directrice du bureau parisien de Bord Bia – Office de Promotion de Produits Alimentaires Irlandais 
Neil Watkins et Tim O’Donovan : ensemble, ils forment « Buffalo Woman », groupe de musique électro-pop. Neil Watkins est par ailleurs comédien, poète et dramaturge et a transformé sa pratique artistique suite à ses mois passés au « Fumbally Café ». Fringe-2013-neil-watkins-dinner-and-a-show
David Donohue : artiste, designer et musicien, David est un professionnel de l’improvisation solo où dialogue des pratiques traditionnelles et numériques de piano et instruments à vent. http://www.daviddonohoe.com
Margie Jean Lewis  : Allié à une solide base de violoniste classique et chanteuse de jazz, Margie joue une myriade d’instruments antiques et s’aventure avec succès dans l’expérimentation des loops, de la musique électro et des heavy beats. lay-lay-feat-margie-lewis
 

Cet événement s’inscrit dans le cadre de la Semaine des cultures étrangères du Forum des Instituts Culturels Etrangers à Paris (19-28 sept 14), dont le thème est cette année « Saveurs, couleurs ». Programmation détaillée de la Semaine : www.ficep.info


Liens



Tags: fiona hallinan,ficep