A History of Irish Art

By Peter Murray

A History of Irish Art

This illustrated lecture series will provide an insight into Irish art over the past four centuries, focusing on the work of individual artists, from James Barry in the eighteenth century to Norah McGuinness, Jack Yeats, Brian O’Doherty and Michael Craig Martin in the twentieth century. Art historian and former director of the Crawford Gallery Cork, Peter Murray will also examine the social, political and economic context within which these artists created their work.

24 Jan: Portraits and landscape painting in the 17th and 18th centuries
This lecture will look at the creation of images of social elites and working people, as well as the subordination of the picturesque in terms of the assertion of property rights and entitlements. It will also examine the philosophical theories of George Berkeley and Edmund Burke, as reflected in paintings of the period.
Reserve tickets for this lecture.

31 Jan: History painting 1780 – 1850: James Barry and Daniel Maclise
The coincidence that the two major history painters working in Britain between 1780 and 1850 were both Irish, and both from Cork, requires some investigation and elucidation. Both artists created major history paintings in London, Barry at the Royal Society of Arts, and Maclise at the new Houses of Parliament.  Class, religion, politics and ambition all played a role in the lives and works of these remarkable artists.
Reserve tickets for this lecture.

7 Feb: Representation of landscape in the 19th century: George Petrie, George Victor Du Noyer and the mapping of Ireland
The foundations of the nationalist movement that led to the War of Independence were laid in the early nineteenth century when a series of government-funded initiatives, such as the Ordnance Survey of Ireland and the Geological Survey, were set in train. Allied to this, the creation of learned cultural and scientific societies, such as the Royal Irish Academy, Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland and Royal Hibernian Academy, made Dublin in the mid-nineteenth century a centre for intellectual activity. However there were two Irelands - in the West, the Great Famine saw thousands die from starvation and disease while, in Dublin, great discoveries were being made in mathematics and the sciences.
Reserve tickets for this lecture.

14 Feb: Irish women artists - Responses to Modernism: Mainie Jellett, Evie Hone, Hilda Roberts, Joan Jameson, Mary Swanzy, Norah McGuinness
With the Easter Rising and War of Independence, the revolutionary movement in Ireland brought significant changes in society. Women artists, excluded for the most part from the academies, were quick to respond to the challenge posed by Modernism.
Reserve tickets for this lecture.

21 Feb: The art and writings of Jack Butler Yeats
While the paintings of Jack Yeats remain well-known, his novels, plays and other writings have faded into relative obscurity. Yet an understanding of Yeats’s creativity, and the position he maintained, between the tensions of Modernism and tradition in Ireland, is not possible without reference to his writings. This lecture examines the various creative persona adopted by Yeats over his lifetime, with particular reference to Samuel Beckett, and looks at how his paintings relate to his writings.
Reserve tickets for this lecture.

28 Feb: The Unexpected Idea and its Realisation: Patrick Ireland/Brian O’Doherty, Michael Craig-Martin
Brian O’Doherty and Michael Craig-Martin are two Irish artists who have achieved international recognition for their work - both cross many boundaries - and as key supporters of new forms of contemporary art: Patrick Ireland/Brian O’Doherty as an author, activist and with the National Endowment for the Arts in the USA; Michael Craig-Martin as an inspiring tutor, in particular at Goldsmith’s College in London, arguably leading him to become the most influential figure behind the Young British Artists.
Reserve tickets for this lecture.

 

Tickets can be reserved for the whole series or for each lecture individually.

 

Image: Head of a Woman, Mainie Jellett 1897-1944 © National Museum NI Collection Ulster Museum

A History of Irish Art

par Peter Murray

A History of Irish Art

Ce cycle de conférences illustrées sera l’occasion d’appréhender l’art irlandais au cours de ces derniers siècles, en mettant en lumière le travail de différents artistes, de James Barry à Norah McGuinness, Jack Yeats, Brian O’Doherty et Michael Craig-Martin. Historien de l’art et ancien directeur de la Crawford Art Gallery (Cork), Peter Murray nous éclairera également sur le contexte social, politique et économique dans lequel ces artistes ont créé leurs œuvres.

24 jan : Portraits et paysages au XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles
Cette conférence aborde les différentes représentations des élites sociales et des travailleurs, ainsi que la subordination du pittoresque en termes de revendication des droits de propriété. Elle examine également les théories philosophiques de George Berkeley et Edmund Burke, reflétées dans les peintures de l’époque.
Réservation pour la conférence du 24 janvier.

31 jan : Peinture d’histoire 1780 – 1850 : James Barry et Daniel Maclise
Les deux plus grands peintres d’histoire de Grande-Bretagne ayant œuvré entre 1780 et 1850 étaient tous deux irlandais, et tous deux originaires de Cork. Cela soulève de nombreuses questions et invite à effectuer des recherches plus approfondies. Les deux artistes sont à l’origine des œuvres monumentales qui ornent les murs de certains lieux emblématiques de Londres : la Royal Society of Arts pour James Barry, et le Palais de Westminster pour Daniel Maclise. Classe sociale, religion, politique et ambition ont joué un rôle important dans la vie et la carrière de ces artistes remarquables.
Réservation pour la conférence du 31 janvier.

7 fév : Représentation du paysage au XIXe siècle : George Petrie, George Victor Du Noyer et la cartographie de l’Irlande. 
Les fondements du mouvement nationaliste à l’origine de la guerre d'indépendance remontent au début du XIXe siècle lorsqu'une série d'initiatives financées par le gouvernement britannique, telles que l’agence de cartographie Ordnance Survey of Ireland et le Geological Survey, ont été mises en place. À cela s’ajoute la création de sociétés scientifiques et culturelles telles que l’Académie royale d’Irlande, la Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland et la Royal Hibernian Academy, qui ont fait de Dublin un véritable pôle intellectuel au milieu du XIXe siècle. Cependant, l’Irlande était divisée en deux parties : l’Ouest, où la grande famine a causé la mort de milliers de personnes, et Dublin, où l’heure était aux grandes découvertes mathématiques et scientifiques.
Réservation pour la conférence du 7 février.

14 fév : Les artistes irlandaises – Réactions au modernisme : Mainie Jellett, Evie Hone, Hilda Roberts, Joan Jameson, Mary Swanzy, Norah McGuinness
Pendant l’insurrection de Pâques et la guerre d'indépendance, le mouvement révolutionnaire irlandais a entraîné des changements importants au sein de la société. Les artistes féminines qui étaient exclues de la plupart des académies ont rapidement su réagir face au défi posé par le modernisme.
Réservation pour la conférence du 14 février.

21 fév : Œuvres et écrits de Jack Butler Yeats
Alors que les peintures de Jack Yeats (1871-1957) sont connues de tous, ses romans, pièces et autres écrits sont tombés dans l'obscurité. Pourtant, ces derniers s’avèrent indispensables pour comprendre la créativité et la position de l’auteur vis-à-vis des tensions existant entre modernisme et tradition en Irlande. Cette conférence étudie les différents personnages que l’auteur a créés tout au long de sa carrière, avec une référence particulière à Samuel Beckett, et établit un lien entre ses peintures et ses écrits.
Réservation pour la conférence du 21 février.

28 fév : L’idée inattendue et sa réalisation : Patrick Ireland/Brian O’Doherty, Michael Craig-Martin
Brian O’Doherty et Michael Craig-Martin sont deux artistes irlandais dont les œuvres, s’affranchissant de nombreuses normes, ont acquis une renommée mondiale. Ils sont également de fervents défenseurs des nouvelles formes de l’art contemporain : Patrick Ireland/Brian O’Doherty en tant qu’auteur, activiste et membre du National Endowment for the Arts aux États-Unis ; et Michael Craig-Martin en tant que professeur au Goldsmiths College of Art de Londres, une position qui lui vaut de devenir l'une des figures les plus influentes du mouvement d’art contemporain Young British Artists.
Réservation pour la conférence du 28 février.

 

RESERVER ICI POUR LE CYCLE DE CONFERENCE
35€ les six conférences (30€ pour étudiants et demandeurs d’emploi)

 

Image : Head of a Woman, Mainie Jellett 1897-1944 © National Museum NI Collection Ulster Museum

 

Cycle organisé en association avec la Sorbonne Nouvelle